Last Updated:
Mohammad Rizwan escapes hit-wicket appeal against South Africa as MCC Law 35.2 saves him after a bizarre incident during Keshav Maharaj’s over.
Mohammad Rizwan is batting on 16 with Babar Azam (Picture credit: AP)
Star Pakistan wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Rizwan on Wednesday escaped a hit-wicket scenario despite an odd antic across the stumps, at the same time as South Africa’s desperate appeal was turned down by the umpires, with an MCC law saving Rizwan and Pakistan.
On the ultimate delivery of the day, spinner Keshav Maharaj, who had taken a five-for in the primary innings, bowled a floated ball outside off that Rizwan drove to extra cover. Moments later, the latter dislodged the bails together with his bat while walking off, prompting a direct appeal from wicketkeeper Kyle Verreynne and his teammates. He even engaged in an animated discussion with on-field umpire Sharfuddoula, however the official dismissed the appeal.
Replays later revealed that the fielder had not returned the ball when Rizwan dislodged the bails, suggesting that South Africa’s appeal had merit. Nonetheless, the umpire had already called ‘over’ before the incident, rendering Rizwan protected.
Watch the video here:
The striker isn’t out under MCC’s law 35.2, should his/her wicket be put down in any of the ways referred to in 35.1 if any of the next apply:
– It occurs after the striker has accomplished any motion in receiving the delivery, aside from in 35.1.1.2 to 35.1.1.4.
– It occurs when the striker is within the act of running, aside from setting off immediately for the primary run.
– It occurs when the striker is attempting to avoid being run out or stumped.
– It occurs when the striker is attempting to avoid a throw-in at any time.
– The bowler, after entering the delivery stride, doesn’t deliver the ball. On this case, either umpire shall immediately call and signal Dead ball.
– The delivery is a no-ball.
In Rizwan’s case, after playing the ball to cover, he didn’t try to run and dislodged the bails while walking away. As this happened after completing his shot and with none further batting motion, it didn’t qualify as a hit-wicket under Law 35.
As per Law 35.2, a batter can’t be given out if the stumps are disturbed after playing the ball. Hence, despite the ball still being in play, Rizwan was declared not out.
October 22, 2025, 20:38 IST
Read More