Was Marcus Johansson Actually Going to Rating on Justus Annunen?

Nashville Predators Have Legitimate Reasons Why The Goal Should Not Have Counted

There was more controversy within the NHL on Tuesday night. No, it didn’t involve goalie interference. This time, the controversy surrounded a goal scored by Minnesota Wild forward Marcus Johansson into the boards, not the web, in time beyond regulation against the Nashville Predators.

There are two sides to each final result. The Wild are thrilled they won, while the Predators are annoyed they lost. And let’s be honest, the Predators have legitimate gripes as to why they consider the goal shouldn’t have counted.

NHL Rumors: Have Steven Stamkos and the Nashville Predators Had Trade Discussions

Before diving into those, keep in mind that the official’s call on the ice was a goal. The officials believed that Predators goaltender Justus Annunen knocked the web off on purpose, stopping a goal. So which means there must be indisputable video evidence to overturn this call.

The NHL Situation Room agreed with the officials on the ice. It continues to be unclear who made the choice, but after the replay process, it was determined that the Wild won the sport and that Marcus Johansson’s goal stood, citing Rule 63.7.

The choice was made in accordance with Rule 63.7which states “Within the event that the goal post is displaced, either deliberately or by chance, by a defending player, prior to the puck crossing the goal line between the traditional position of the goalposts, the Referee may award a goal.

To be able to award a goal in this case, the goal post should have been displaced by the actions of a defending player, the attacking player should have an imminent scoring opportunity prior to the goal post being displaced, and it should be determined that the puck would have entered the web between the traditional position of the goal posts.”

Nonetheless, the reason leaves much to be desired and is open to many interpretations. Look, even Steven Stamkos of the Nashville Predators, when speaking with Lyndsay Rowley of Fox Sports Nashville, interpreted the rule completely in a different way from what the decision on the ice was.

Well, I feel Toronto ended up making the decision. Obviously, one among the refs who called it a goal on the ice thought that our goaltender pushed the web off on purpose and subsequently denied a possibility for them to attain.

But obviously, there’s two sides to every little thing. Our side thought obviously the web got here off, but he missed the shot and it went wide, and if the web wasn’t off within the angle that it was at, the puck would have went behind the web, and subsequently he wouldn’t have had a second opportunity.

So if we’re staying true to the rule. And our interpretation of it’s, if the web is off and it directly affects a goal that’s scored, then, yeah, we’ve got no problem with that, but the unique shot didn’t go in, and the puck bounced back to him because the web was off. In order that’s where we were, a little bit confused.

NHL Rumors: Is Time Winding Down in Nashville for Steven Stamkos?

The Predators aren’t denying the web got here off. Nonetheless, that was the second time the web got here off in the sport. And Annunen didn’t bump the web that onerous to knock it off. Nonetheless, the referees determined that Annunen had deliberately knocked the web off to disclaim a goal. This can be a significant assumption on the a part of each the officials and the Situation Room.

Several other options could have played out. Say the web doesn’t come off, and the pass from Kirill Kaprizov to Marcus Johansson still gets through, does Johansson even rating? The way in which he was angled, that puck goes behind the web or no less than to the surface mesh. Perhaps Justus Annunen makes a save there on Johansson. We now have seen that before.

The NHL Has a Goalie Interference Problem

The proven fact that the puck comes back to Johansson after the initial shot, the whistle must have blown. But good on Marcus Johansson for enjoying until he heard a whistle. That’s what you might be taught as a child. Play until the whistle. But this was not a continuation play. Due to this fact, the whistle must have gone and the play must have halted.

But without an official explanation on who made the decision, even the reply is open to interpretation.

Have you ever subscribed to our YouTube channel? Rumor roundups and hot topics from across the league. We’re also posting some stuff on Instagram.

 


Related Post

Leave a Reply